The Department of Psychology offers work leading to the Doctor of Philosophy degree in Psychology, with the Master of Arts degree earned as part of this program. The department’s goal is to produce scholars and researchers who will contribute to the growth of psychological knowledge whether they work in academic or applied settings. Students must major in one of five areas (Behavioral Neuroscience, Clinical, Cognitive, Community and Prevention Research, and Social and Personality). All students must satisfy the requirements of their major area. In addition, students must minor in another area (which could include quantitative psychology, psychology and law) or develop a minor that crosses multiple disciplines and fulfills educational goals. Interdepartmental concentrations in Neuroscience, Gender and Women’s Studies, Violence Studies, Latin American and Latino Studies, and Black Studies are available to graduate students in the department. The framework of a student’s program is determined by the major/minor combination that is selected. Within that framework and in consultation with their advisors, students construct programs individually tailored to their research interests and career goals. The department also offers course work in the instruction of psychology and practicum opportunities to develop college-level teaching skills.